The True North Strong & Free?

I celebrated Canada day while growing up for the sake of celebrating rather than supporting a cause, like most others (I assume). When I asked/learned about Canada day, I was told it’s “Canada’s birthday” and the day was decorated with nationalism and a general sense of being “proud to be Canadian”. If you’re a frequent reader of my blog, you’ll know that I strongly believe in consumer awareness, so I don’t consider Canada day any different than a buy-in cause.

So what are we supporting? Like I said, most people are simply celebrating in a hegemonic way – taking advantage of a statutory holiday to get together with friends and family, eat food, blast fireworks & face paint without really thinking about their passionate love for Canada. Is it fair to say we are indirectly supporting how Canada was created? Colonialism?

This Canada day I’m finding myself a bit indifferent and disgusted. Perhaps its the recent release of the Canadian Truth and Reconciliation commission report, but I’m not so sure I’m a “proud Canadian”. I’ve mentioned this to many people before without the pressure of Canada day, and the common response I receive is, “well where would you rather live?” It’s not a matter of where I’m living though, it’s a matter of who I’m supporting.

Today my support is with Canadian Aboriginal communities, and in fact, Aboriginal & Indigenous communities everywhere. Colonialism is and always will be the skid mark of social relations around the world. The celebrators of Canada/Kanata day need to be conscious of underlying power relations that they support.

My intention with this post is to offer a more comprehensive view to the history of Canada… not make you hate Canada day… or yourself.

Here are a few resources:

Idle No More

National Aboriginal Day (Government of Canada source)

Truth & Reconciliation Commission of Canada

3 thoughts on “The True North Strong & Free?

Your turn